Three Phases... Two Hearts
One Passion
15 to 18 November 2018

FEI Classics

The FEI Classics™ is a series uniting the top end of the international Eventing circuit, namely the six four-star Eventing competitions currently on the calendar.


Season Calendar 2014- 2015

  1. 22 – 26 October 2014               Les Etoiles de Pau (FRA)
  2. 13 – 16 November 2014 Australian International 3 Day Event, Adelaide (AUS)
  3. 23 – 26 April 2015               Rolex Kentucky Three Day Event (USA)
  4. 07 – 10 May 2015               Mitsubishi Motors Badminton Horse Trials (GBR)
  5. 18 – 21 June 2015               Luhmühlen CCI**** presented by DHL Paket (GER)
  6. 03 – 06 September 2015 Land Rover Burghley Horse Trials (GBR)

At the end of each season, the five riders with the highest number of points collected among the FEI Classics™ events (Pau, Adelaide, Lexington, Badminton, Luhmühlen, and Burghley) will be awarded prize money as follows:

  • 1st         US$ 40,000 (Series Champion)
  • 2nd       US$ 35,000
  • 3rd        US$ 25,000
  • 4th        US$ 15,000
  • 5th        US$ 5,000


Points System

Points will be awarded to the top 25 % of starters at each event (as per prize-money principles and regular Eventing ranking rules) as follows:

  1. 15 points 6.           5 points
  2. 12 points 7.           4 points
  3. 10 points 8.           3 points
  4. 8 points 9.           2 points
  5. 6 points 10.         1 points


  • Riders will earn points with their best single performance at each event (rider must have achieved a Minimum Eligibility Result at the event).
  • In case of equality of points, points accumulated over fewer events will determine a better placing than points gained over more events.
  • If there is still equality of placing from points awarded at a single event, the best placed rider is the competitor whose placing is achieved in the event with the most starters.
  • If there is still equality of placing in the case of riders awarded points in several events, the rider whose points have been accumulated from the events with the highest collective number of starters will be the best placed rider.
  • If there is still a tie, the best placed rider is the competitor with the lowest total of penalty points at the specific event (=differentiating score); if a rider is awarded points in several events, the best score will count as differential.


Previous Winners of the Classics Series

  • 2014      William Fox-Pitt (GBR)
  • 2013      Andrew Nicholson (NZL)
  • 2012      William Fox-Pitt (GBR)
  • 2011      Mary King (GBR)
  • 2010      William Fox-Pitt (GBR)
  • 2009      Oliver Townend (GBR)
  • 2008      William Fox-Pitt (GBR)